PyGLy steps into the future

I’ve been working quite heavily on PyGLy for the last few weeks and I’m incredibly pleased to announce that PyGLy is now OpenGL 3 clean!

It took more work than I hoped. Not because of PyGLy (it was already pretty good), but Pyglet’s OpenGL Core (3+) support on OS-X, is well… broken.
I had to integrate a patch written by someone else and patch out 2 of the window event handlers.
The main reason for this is that OpenGL Core on OS-X is limited to 3.2, and is Core only (no legacy compatibility).
These changes can be found in my Github repository.

Pyglet isn’t without it’s problems. It is quite heavy weight in places. There is no support for float or 1D textures.
Other problems are it’s usage of legacy calls. These are scattered throughout the code base and prevent me from using even the Label or VertexList classes.
I would LOVE to help with the development of Pyglet… but I find the code… very confusing.
It’s got a fair amount of abstraction. Tracing even a vertex buffer blows my mind.

Regardless, I hope these issues will be fixed soon.

One Response to “PyGLy steps into the future”

  1. Glad to see another library hopefully taking off šŸ™‚
    (I might use it if it works with Portable Python)

    I’ve never really liked pyglet due to it’s poor support issues and bloat
    (pyglet didn’t even support OpenGL’s 16bit float algorithms, last I used it)
    I’ve always stuck with the more-native PyOpenGL, which alot of people seem to think it doesn’t support the latest OpenGL for some reason…

    The only problem with PyOpenGL is it runs slower on Python3 due to extensive data-type testing.

Leave a Reply

